New Look 6028 Jacket

Standard

I’ve made my first jacket! Since it’s now winter, I like to layer, and wanted to sew up some jackets and jersey cardigans, so that I can layer them over dresses and short sleeved shirts. But I’ve never made a jacket before, so I wanted to use a very simple pattern. I ended up choosing New Look 6028, which is a lined jacket labelled easy.

I chose to make view D.

They attach the lining by stitching it to the outer fabric along the neckline, center front, and bottom edge, and then you turn it inside out through an opening in the lining on side. It has princess seams going through the armscythe.

I bought a nice wool boucle, but wanted to make a wearable muslin first, and so I used some denim from the annex at Mill End in Beaverton, OR. And for the lining, I used some flannel. I think I must have been really cold that day, because the flannel sounded so nice and cozy.

 

 

 

The pants are the Colette Clover pants. They were my second try at making the pants, and they fit much better than my first pair. I took in the high hip point by 3/4 inch, and the low hip point by 1/4 inch, and also decreased the front crotch length by 1/2 inch.

 

And lastly, the grey double-knit shirt is New Look 6901, which is my go to pattern for cowl neck shirts.

Overall, I do like the New Look 6028 jacket. I think that it is very easy to sew, and the only hand stitching required is to attach the sleeve lining to the sleeve. Therefore, it is a very fast sew. I think that I will not make another one with this pattern, since I am taking patternmaking, and should be drafting my own jacket, and I am not completely happy with the fit here.

 

About Karen

Karen first took sewing classes in middle school, but took a break until her husband bought her a sewing machine a few years back. Her MIL taught her how to quilt, and recently, she started making clothes again. Karen is taking sewing classes at Portland Sewing. She took Beginning Sewing 1 2 and 3 in summer 2011, Patternmaking 1 and 2 in Fall 2011, and is currently taking Textiles.

3 responses »

  1. This is my first time to your blog, and I love it! The jacket is very nicely done and I really like the cowl neck top. I plan to start sewing again after a many, many year dry spell in sewing. This project looks like a good one to start with. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

